Gemini Man

gemini man

To expand its catalog by the month of AprilNetflix has been picking up some titles left and right, including this Gemini Man. A film released some time ago and which Will Smith plays the lead role. We also find Clive Owen, another Hollywood star and Mary Elizabeth Winstead.

The pitch

The story follows a former military man, Henry Brogan. He made a career as a sniper, and one of the best, in fact. He then becomes a hitman and his services are in high demand. But every man must retire, and Henry plans to enjoy his retirement in Georgia, near Savannah. But his former employer, a U.S. government agency, doesn't see it that way... For them, Henry is a weapon that must be taken out of harm's way and not left to roam free. So they send the only person capable of killing the veteran: himself, or rather his clone, 30 years younger. Hence the title Gemini man, the twin.

Do we watch or do we zap?

The film is based on a very old scenario that dates back to the 90s when Harrison Ford was still thought to play the main character. But Ang Lee, the director does wonderfully by making a well finished action film, all in finesse, etc. That said, this scenario is not without reminding that of Sniper, both the film with Mark Wahlberg, and the Netflix series. As much to say that the story of the sniper that his former employer wants to eliminate is not revolutionary.

To read:  Serving the past: the opinion of Internet users

It is also regrettable that the "cloning" part is rushed and that it is not given more importance, a sort of deus ex machina to justify a younger alter ego.

But for those who like a good dose of action and want to have a good popcorn time, this is the ideal movie!

Comments
en_USEnglish

Gemini Man

Pour étoffer son catalogue au mois d’avril, Netflix a été pioché quelques titres à gauche et à droite, dont ce Gemini Man. Un film sorti il y a quelques temps déjà et dont Will Smith interprète le rôle principal. On y retrouve également Clive Owen, autre pointure hollywoodienne et Mary Elizabeth Winstead.

Le pitch

L’histoire suit celle d’un ancien militaire, Henry Brogan. Il a fait carrière comme sniper, et l’un des meilleurs, d’ailleurs. Il devient ensuite tueur à gages et ses services sont très demandés. Mais tout homme doit prendre sa retraite, et Henry compte bien profiter de la sienne en Géorgie, près de Savannah. Mais son ancien employeur, une agence gouvernementale américaine ne le voit pas de cette œil… Pour eux, Henry est une arme qu’il faut mettre hors d’état de nuire et pas se laisser balader librement. Aussi, il envoie à ses trousses la seule personne capable de tuer le vétéran : lui-même, ou plutôt son clone, plus jeune de 30 ans. D’où le titre Gemini man, le jumeau.

On mate ou on zappe ?

Le film se base sur un scénario très ancien qui remonte aux années 90 quand on pensait encore à Harrison Ford pour incarner le personnage principal. Mais Ang Lee, le metteur en scène fait merveille en réalisant un film d’action bien fini, tout en finesse, etc. Cela dit, ce scénario n’est pas sans rappeler celui de Sniper, aussi bien le film avec Mark Wahlberg, que de la série Netflix. Autant dire que l’histoire du sniper que son ancien employeur veut éliminer n’est pas révolutionnaire.

A lire :  Cobra Kai : des infos filtrent sur la saison 4

On regrettera aussi que la partie « clonage » soit expédiée et qu’on y accorde pas plus d’importance, sorte de deus ex machina pour justifier un alter ego plus jeune.

Mais pour celui qui aime une bonne dose d’action et qui souhaite passer un bon moment popcorn, c’est le film idéal !

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *