The battle of the Scheldt, the forgotten battle

The Battle of the Scheldt

Hundreds, even thousands of films have already been made about the Second World War. But one battle sometimes escapes historians, that of the Scheldt. Netflix has decided to make a film about it to compete with Hollywood studios who are playing with Dunkirk and D-Day!

The film was not intended to be a big production, as Netflix likes to do. No, it is a Dutch film with local actors whose estimated budget is between 10 and 15 million. Indeed, we do not know Gijs Blom, Jamie Flatters or Matthijs van Heijningen Jr, the director. We will note the presence of Tom Felton, the Drago Malfoy in Harry Potter.

As the title suggests, the film focuses on the Battle of the Scheldt, which took place between the Netherlands and Belgium between October and November 1944. The Allies pushed on this side of the front to take possession of the banks of the Scheldt. Its estuary was a key point for supplies via Antwerp. Obviously, the Nazis could not lose it and offered fierce resistance to the Allied troops.

The film follows the journey of a Nazi soldier, a Resistance recruit and a young glider pilot. Their intersecting stories will lead to a logical outcome where the good guys defeat the bad guys.

To read:  Toy Boy season 2, what we know

That doesn't stop the film from doing more than well at the Netflix box office, as it has been in the top 10 for the past few days alongside steamrollers like Squid Game or Sex Education.

Comments
en_USEnglish

La bataille de l’Escaut, la bataille oubliée

Des centaines de films, voire des milliers ont déjà été réalisés sur la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Mais une bataille échappe parfois aux historiens, celle de l’Escaut. Netflix a décidé d’en faire un film pour concurrencer les studios hollywoodiens qui jouent plutôt avec Dunkerque et D-Day !

Le film n’était pas destiné à être une grosse production, comme aime les faire Netflix. Non, c’est un film néerlandais avec des acteurs du cru dont le budget estimé est entre 10 et 15 millions. En effet, on ne connait pas Gijs Blom, Jamie Flatters ou encore Matthijs van Heijningen Jr, le réalisateur. On notera tout de même la présence de Tom Felton, le Drago Malfoy dans Harry Potter.

Comme l’indique son titre, le film se focalise sur la bataille de l’Escaut, qui se déroule entre les Pays-Bas et la Belgique entre octobre et novembre 1944. Les Alliés poussent de ce côté du front afin de prendre possession des rives de l’Escaut. Son estuaire est un point-clé pour permettre le ravitaillement via Anvers. Evidemment, les nazis ne peuvent pas le perdre et offrent une résistance féroce aux troupes alliées.

Le film suit le parcours d’un soldat nazi, d’une recrue de la Résistance et d’un jeune pilote de planeur. Leur histoire croisée amènera à un dénouement logique où les bons vainquent les méchants.

A lire :  Le film Deadpool est-il disponible sur Netflix ?

Cela n’empêche pas le film de s’en tirer plus que bien au box-office Netflix puisqu’il est dans le top 10 depuis quelques jours aux côtés de rouleaux compresseurs comme Squid Game ou Sex Education.

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *